Speaking Of Brown Rice Syrup

One of the “red flag” ingredients I’ve always worried about is brown rice syrup. But it’s Messestandbeleuchtung been showing up in more GF wholesale nfl jerseys ingredients lately (such as the Plush Puffs marshmallows).

Generally I Google something like “brown rice syrup gluten free” and see what comes up to research an ingredient. There are several ingredients which have developed a bit In-N-Out of gluten folklore, however, and brown rice syrup is one of them.

I’ve seen plenty of guidelines saying to stay away from it, but some saying it is OK. But who do you trust?

Today I found the University Of Your Chicago has a Celiac Disease Center. That seems like a dependable source Peeps of information! And indeed, they have a very useful gluten-free diet resource.  Check it out.

They list brown rice syrup as a potential source of gluten. There is no opreme explanation, though they address the other sources of confusion – oats, modified food starch, cheap nfl jerseys and vinegar – in more detail.

I did find a column in the Tampa Bay Examiner which says Plush that brown rice syrup is traditionally made by fermenting rice with barley malt. However, wholesale nfl jerseys it is possible to make it without the barley, thus making it gluten free.

So, brown rice syrup remains a red flag ingredient, unless the company claims the product to wholesale mlb jerseys be gluten free (and they can be trusted).

2 responses to “Speaking Of Brown Rice Syrup

  1. There are some problems here. First most asian coikong uses cast iron woks. The reason this is dangerous is that it doesn’t matter if your dish doesn’t have soy sauce in it, because there is years, I mean YEARS of imbedded gluten in the coikong surface. Cast iron is porous, and it absorbs what ever you cook in it. So it doesn’t matter if your dish uses a different soy sauce. Second they only rinse it out with a bit of water, so its not a real wash anyways. If any of you know what they actually got in their kitchen then we’d have a better understanding of whether its safe or not. I ate the wraps there once and got horribly sick. I didn’t make the mistake again. I better see some responsibility with these new gluten free menus rather than the typical disclaimer. This is a common disease, and needs a real specific solution. 20 ppm can easily be crossed due to coikong surfaces in Asian restaurants. Believe me I know, I worked for a while in a Thai Restaurant and became violently ill from the woks. We should be supporting businesses that go the full lengths to ensure safety, and so far they’re aren’t any corporate chains we can depend on.

  2. Good point – the more you know, the better. I had a cast iron pan that I had from before my diagnosis and loved loved loved – it was perfectly seasoned, but I was still getting sick. I used to cook flour tortillas in it all the time. When I replaced the pan, I started feeling better immediately.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.